Charge!

Every morning when my 18-month daughter gets up she has an audience of at least one sibling – most of the time it’s three of them.  They play with her through the crib bars and they like to see what she’s going to wear that day.  As I was dressing her one day, one of the audience members turns to the other and says “let’s hurry up and go into the living room so we can watch her charge out of the bedroom”  Excitedly they ran out and assumed their positions.

 When I was done dressing her, I put her down and sure enough she took off, flung the door open and went charging around the corner into the living room.  This was followed by a chorus of laughter from those waiting. 

The next day, I decided to be an audience member.  I wanted to see her face when she came out. So after dressing her I put her down, ran out of the room pulling the door to behind me, and got ready.  Sure enough, she came charging around the corner and stopped with the biggest smile on her face as if to say, “Here I am world – let’s see what I can discover today!”

 I was thinking about that the other day as I drug myself out of bed – later than I should – and after a thirty-minute pep talk to myself .   Where has my “Charge!” gone?  Why have I gotten so bogged down in the daily stuff that I don’t greet the day with the same anticipation as my toddler?  There are still things to be discovered.  Each day is a new frontier…if I only look at it that way.  I’m guilty of letting the day seize me, instead of seizing the day. 

So tomorrow I am going to be proactive, instead of reactive.  I’m going to put on my armor, draw my sword and Charge!

Maybe I’ll even tell the kids to grab a seat in the audience.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on October 3, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    How true Kerri! So often I think that I should sleep in a little longer to get up the energy to tackle the day, but somehow those days I just end up feeling tackled myself. Great blog.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kim on October 3, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Great post Kerri!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

