Fork in the Road

In our small group the last couple of weeks, we’ve been talking about the life of David and how he came to a fork in the road several times in his life.  Little did I know that after last week’s lesson, I’d be facing a fork in the road. 

Do you know what it’s like when you’re driving (and driving and driving), and you realize that you are on the wrong road?  Normally, you’d just look for a way to turn off or turn around, but sometimes you can’t do that.  Either you’ve gone too far to turn back or there is nowhere to turn around.  So you drive and wait for an opportunity.  Finally, over the horizon you spot a road.  Even if it’s not the one you need, at least it is something different – a change of scenery.  When you come to it, you see that it isn’t another road – it is a fork in the road.  Two separate ways, each promising their own unique journey. 

One looks familiar and safe.  The other looks unfamiliar, but intriguing.  Which one do I take?  If you’re a fan of Frost, I’m sure you would urge me to take the road less traveled by, and I admit that in my mind’s eye, I would succumb to the call of the unknown.  I would throw caution to the wind and cry ‘no guts, no glory!’  In reality, though, it is hard to ignore the pull of the known.  We are creatures of comfort and knowledge affords that comfort.  I have been conditioned by my environment to want that, to need that safety.

 It’s a difficult decision to make.  What makes it even more difficult is that I am not the one driving.  I can spout directions from the passenger seat all day long, but ultimately someone else is turning the wheel.  That someone is my husband. 

 Ironically, a few days ago, I took part in an informal survey about what wives are looking for in a spiritual leader.  I knew just how to answer that.  The question I am struggling with is how to be a submissive wife.  I do an okay job of it, but I can definitely use improvement.  Especially when it comes to navigating a fork in the road that will determine as much of my destination as it will his. 

 There are some things I can do to help.  I can pray, I can listen, I can affirm.  I can pull out my map (the word) and share some good directions I’ve learned.  But he will ultimately make the call.  And this where I have to put my failth to the test.  It’s a little frightening, but the rewards are worth it it.

Still, I think I’ll go have another look at the map… 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on October 11, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    I can understand where you’re coming from. Eric is restless and needs change to be a part of his life. I am the polar opposite. I thrive on security and stability. So it is always hard for me to go along when he feels the need for a change in our family. I have to remind myself daily that God put him in his position for a reason, and even if I am not always fully confident in him, I can be fully confident in God.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

