Give me some sugar…

Last Monday I took my glucose test at the doctor’s office.  This is a standard test to to determine whether you have gestational diabetes – which means your body is not breaking down sugar efficiently during pregnancy.  They tell you to eat a good breakfast and then when you arrive, they give you a bottle of what tastes like flat syrupy orange soda to drink in 10 minutes.  This used to gross me out. However, this being my sixth time, I drank it in about a minute.  I find it’s the quicker the better.  An hour later they take a blood sample for testing. 

 I have never had a problem with this test.  When Monday of this week came and went and I hadn’t heard anything, I assumed I was in the clear.  Then Tuesday morning I get the call that my sugar was a little high and I have to take an extended test called the glucose challenge test.  Because I hadn’t had experience with this, for some reason I was under the impression that you had to have a low sugar diet and fast before the test.  Then I received the fax from the doctor’s office outlining the ‘diet’ I have to follow for three days before the test.  This is what it says:

Three days prior to your test, you should eat three large meals and four sweet items from the list below (in the amount listed) PER DAY.  And these are some of the choices and amounts: 1 can of soda, 1 pint ice cream, 8-10 cookies, 2 candy bars, 2 cookies, 2 cupcakes, 1 large piece of fudge, 2 large or 4 small brownies, 2 large or 6 small donuts, 1 large slice of cake, 2 honey buns.

Are you kidding me? At first it looks like a pregnant woman’s (or any woman’s) dream diet come true.  On second thought though, I have to ask… Can I hold that much food in one day? There is another person taking up a lot of room in there.  Will I be able to sleep?  This is already an issue and a bunch of sugar coursing through my veins surely won’t help.  Maybe I’ll have a huge sugar crash.  Will my teeth rot out?  I have had a minor tooth ache and it’s sure to help that 🙂 And of course how much weight will I gain those three days? I’ve been doing well with my weight gain, but this ought to tip the scales.  My husband isn’t worried and says that he’ll follow it with me to show his support 🙂

Regardless of all of that, though, I plan to enjoy it. Because if I fail this test, I will have to go on a restricted diet, through the holidays, and my birthday :-0!!! (I wonder if he plans to follow that one with me????)

That being said, I count all that as loss compared to the exceeding blessing of having another baby. 

And if you want to go out for dessert next week, call me!  I have several available openings.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kim on October 20, 2007 at 1:53 am

    Man….I failed the first test one time and had to take the other test, but I couldn’t eat anything sweeter than a graham cracker and those were in a limited number. I would be loving that list.:)

    Reply

  2. Posted by kermooch on October 20, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    I know – I wonder if they gave me the wrong list.

    Reply

  3. Posted by scrabblenut on October 22, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    I would love to diet with you too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

