Maybe Mayberry

I know that I said I was going to blog about a book I’ve been reading, but I wanted to take a little detour and write about the Return to Mayberry series that started at church today.  We’ve had some great series lately, but this one stood out for me because it’s something that has really been pressing on me in recent months. (see blog on Finding the Balance)

Although I’m familiar with most of the characters and settings on The Andy Griffith Show, it’s interesting to me that even though I never really watched when I was younger, it could make me feel so nostalgic watching it now.  I was doing some ‘research’ for the cafe at church and tivo-ed several episodes off TVLand trying to find the BlueBird diner (without any success) and ended up quite taken with the show.  Ironically, one of the episodes that taped was ‘The Man in a Hurry’  that they showed clips from during the message.  The story of a man that was in such a hurry to get back on the road after his car broke down that he couldn’t slow down long enough to enjoy the scenery and the friendly people around him really struck a chord with me.  He was not a pleasant man and I found myself wanting to give him a piece of my mind.  However, the citizens of Mayberry did just the opposite and in the end, won him over with their soft answers and kind spirit.  My kids even understood the simple and timeless message there. 

 I  realize that simplicity itself doesn’t mean that life is void of problems.  I do think it means that we have more energy and clarity of mind to face problems as they come instead of adding them to the pile of ‘stuff to deal with’.  

 I also don’t think that simplicity itself will equate with a deeper spiritual walk.  If we’re not careful, it can have the opposite effect.  It can lead to a stagnant spiritual life.  We can be so fixed on keeping things simple that we block out what God has put before us to challenge us and help us grow.

Too much simplicity can in fact breed boredom which, just like with children, can lead to us to trouble. We’ll  look for something – anything- to fill the void.  I sometimes think we’ve created a culture of adults with ADD who must always be doing something – gaming, ipod-ing, web-surfing, blogging 🙂 , anything involving a screen and some noise.  No wonder we can’t hear God speaking to us.  For non-believers, I think these things serve to fill the hole left by not having a relationship with Christ. 

For believers, I think we sometimes aren’t patient enough to stop and listen to Him.  We wait two seconds and when we don’t get the answer, we set off to find it in a book (not the Book), a website, a conference, whatever. There’s nothing wrong with these things, but frankly I get a little overwhelmed and over-stimulated by all of the information pouring into my brain.  In fact, last night I couldn’t sleep because there was so much stuff running around in my head I felt like crying (which I did) and then praying for relief (which I also did). Then I got out of bed and sat on the front porch at 11 at night in an effort to find some peace.  My concerned husband joined me and we had a good talk that ran the gamut from important stuff, like that we need to start getting ready for this baby – to trivial stuff, like trying to figure out what costumes the adult neighbors were wearing as they ‘walked’ home from their Halloween party in the dark 🙂  I felt much better afterwards even though we really hadn’t come up with many solutions.  Some may chalk it up to pregnancy hormones, but I know that God has got something up His sleeve for us and for our family and is preparing us for it.

I share all of this to say that my life has never been richer or fuller, and we have been blessed with so very much.  At the same time, there are some things clogging up the works that we really don’t need.  So my mission now is to seek out and annihilate those things so that I can really savor all that is good in my life without being too tired and too stressed to enjoy it. 

Can we really lead the simplified life?  It may seem a bit idealistic considering how different the world is now.  Maybe Mayberry is out of reach in our society today.

But then again, maybe Mayberry has been right here all along and we’ve just been too busy to notice.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kim on October 30, 2007 at 2:14 am

    Kerri~
    That was such a great post.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lora on October 29, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    And then there’s me, keeping it simple. Just responding and commenting on the blog, not actually blogging. I totally enjoy reading yours though. I’m glad that I have the pleasure of reading these wonderful, thought-provoking blogs!

    In response to your blog…..Amen, Sister!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

