What’s in your pocket?

While I was talking to another mom last night, I reached into my pocket and pulled out a purple sock leftover from the day’s clean-up.  She laughed and commented that she often ended up with handfuls of stuff in her pockets, too. 

So today I decided to catalog all the things I picked up off the floor and put in my pockets: 

3 Hair things – 2 pony-tail holders & 1 small clip

1 quarter, 3 dimes, a nickel and 4 pennies

2 unmatching socks

1 screw

1 battery

1 key to unknown lock

1 mini-ornament for a mini-tree

1 Candyland gamepiece

1 very tangled necklace

3 counting bears for use with math – more often used to entertain the toddler while we do math

It’s a wonder a toddler survives here with all the small parts lying around.  And it’s no wonder I’m so tired at the end of the day – I’m hauling around a small junk yard.  I can hear strains of the theme from Sanford and Son – bum bum bunna, bum bum bunna…

For kicks, I’ve also included items found while doing the laundry – today:

 1 Ramone car from Cars movie                                                                                                                

1 plastic tree frog

1 rock

1 small Christmas tree branch w/needles

1 Happy Meal Neopet – minus his ‘mane’ (this was about his third wash)

1 chunk of styrofoam

1 plastic wrapper from a Capri Sun straw

1 Disney trivia game-piece

1 band-aid, used

1 gold dollar

1 penny

1 bunch of tiny pieces of paper

These are almost all property of the 5-year old boy.  I guess that’s the benefit (or problem) of cargo pants – lots of pockets to stuff with tiny treasures – and does he ever!  I’m guessing that the only things that weren’t his were the gold dollar and the penny because he spends his money too fast to ever have any on his person – probably all on more tiny treasures for me to wash 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on December 7, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    I think it is funny that it all comes from your son. I never would have known that little girls weren’t collectors. Harrison collects everything. One day he asked me if he could collect the little prickly seeds that the dog was bringing in on her fur. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by kermooch on December 7, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    That makes me feel better 🙂 Peyton also collects envelopes, coupons and the boxes that his hotwheels come in. Needless to say, these things often ‘disappear’ when Bill or I find them.

    The girls are collectors, too, but they are more specific. Emily likes small papers ?? Maddie likes small animals, like Pet Shops, but they generally don’t carry them around in their pockets. Katelyn – being a teenager – collects money 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by shellygarvin on December 7, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    It doesn’t get any better when they get older. The boys at school are “selling” rocks for acorns? Needless to say, Ryan has been coming home with pockets of acorns and rocks. I usually find them in the washing machine. He did move them to a lunchbox to take to school today 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

