Christmas Mission

I am on a mission.  Since I was a teenager, I’ve collected Christmas albums.  Then, of course, they were on tape 🙂  Every year I would add one or two.  I have slowed down the last couple of years because I have so many and because I got an iPod last year and I can download one or two songs instead of the whole album.  How many versions of Jingle Bell rock do you need?

 I’ve had some of them since Bill and I got married and listening to them reminds me of our early Christmases.  Some of my long time favorite albums include:

Harry Connick, Jr’s When My Heart Finds Christmas which has Parade of the Wooden Soldiers – a favorite from when I was young  – now the kids love to march around the living room to it

Amy Grant – Home for Christmas – an eclectic mix of fun favorites, classics and the original version of Breath of Heaven.

Vince Guaraldi’s A Charlie Brown Christmas – again the piano is a favorite and brings back memories of watching the show since we were young.

The Nutcracker – a classic – great to wrap and decorate to or background music for your Christmas morning video 🙂

Some newer discoveries include:

Harry Connick, Jr.  Harry for the Holidays he’s an awesome piano player and Jingle Bells really showcases it.

Chris Rice’s Living Room Sessions – Christmas again with the piano.  I love to listen to this in the van when I am out Christmas shopping and I’m feeling over-stimulated by all of the music in the stores and the crowds.  It’s very relaxing.

WOW Christmas – a nice variety by my favorite Christian artists

Individual song versions:

Carol of the Bells – with lyrics – Home Alone version, instrumental – Mannheim Steamroller

Mary Did You Know – the original is my favorite – I think it’s by Michael English.

Clay Aiken’s Medley of Hark the Herald Angels Sing and O Come All Ye Faithful – laugh if you want, but he does have a great voice and these two songs are favorites because they really speak about Jesus and the reason we celebrate.

This brings me to my mission – I  cannot find one of my CD’s with my favorite version of one of my  favorite songs on it.  It’s O Holy Night and it has to be Michael Crawford’s version.  They used to play it on the radio all the time until Josh Groban’s version came out a few years ago then his version took over.  I have not heard Michael’s version yet this year!!!  Now, I have nothing against Josh Groban, but people, there’s no comparison on this song.  Michael’s haunting voice and the way he starts out soft and easy and builds to the final Noel at the end, well if it doesn’t you give chills then there’s something wrong. 

Usually I could just pop my CD in and get my chill fix, but I cannot find it anywhere.  I think Josh Groban’s people have something to do with it 😉  I will not give up until I find it!

There’s so many other albums and songs I know I have forgotten.  I would love to hear your favorites, so post a response and let me know.  I haven’t bought a CD this year and your suggestion may the one that prompts me to do so 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Celia Johnson on December 17, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Kerri,

    This version of “O Holy Night” is available on Michael Crawford’s CD called “A Christmas Album.” It is available on iTunes. The song is also on a CD called “The Christmas Album” by David Foster. Michael Crawford’s version is my very favorite, too!!! I hope this helps!!!

    Celia Johnson

    Reply

  2. Posted by scrabblenut on December 18, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Two of my favorite newer Christmas songs are by TransSiberian Orchestra. I’m sure you’ve heard their contemporary version of Carol of the Bells on the radio. It is actually called Christmas Eve in Sarajevo and it is an instrumental medley of Carol of the Bells and God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman. I love that one, but I think my favorite is one that doesn’t play on the radio, called Christmas Canon. It is beautiful. Unfortunately the two songs are on separate CD’s and the some of the other songs on the albums are a little weird, so probably not a candidate for the annual Christmas album. But I would say the songs are definitely worth downloading.

    Reply

  3. Posted by scrabblenut on December 20, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    I almost forgot…if you like Rebecca St. James, her Christmas album is great. Normally I don’t really like the non-traditional versions of traditional songs, but her album has become one of our top 5 Christmas albums by far.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

