This and that

Last night while I was out, Bill and Katelyn got B.I.F.ed.  (Bless it Forwarded) The suspects, dressed in camo, rang the bell and left a cute little goody bag for us with a note.  I don’t know who did it, but based on some intel I possess, I have my suspicions.  All I have to say is job well done.  They scared Katelyn to death looking in the window and probably startled Bill out of a doze on the couch – those two need a little shaking up now and then.  And thank you – it’s nice to be on the receiving end.  You’re all that and a box of rocks 🙂

Today I’m trying to tie up loose ends.  I went and did lots of little errands and (shudder) went to Wal-Mart – hopefully for the last time until after Christmas.  If that doesn’t bring on labor, I don’t know what will – that place is huge.  I like to call it ‘the black hole’  because you get sucked in and can’t get out. 

I’ve almost finished packing for the hospital and I’ve finally washed the baby’s clothes in Dreft.  I just love that smell.  It’s synonymous with babies to me.

Tonight it is my goal to finish thank you notes and Christmas cards.  I am a little behind. 

Tomorrow I would love to start baking with the kids.  We also have a gingerbread house to put together.  And I would like to wrap some stuff.  That may be a bit ambitious, though.   I will use as my motivation the thought of taking gifts wrapped by my husband to my family get together.  He has many talents, but gift wrap is not one of them 🙂 He has improved over the years. 

Then there is the house.  This probably needs to be done the most, but it is not high on my list of fun things to do during Christmas break.  Cleaning usually involves a lot of bending and that is rather difficult right now.  Somehow it will get done.  Probably by Bill.  With ‘help’ from the kids.  While I’m in the hospital. 

Sometimes I let myself get overwhelmed by all there is to do, especially right now with preparations for baby & Christmas, and all the regular duties of school and  home and church.  Being limited physically and dependent on others can be frustrating.  But then I think about those who are always limited and dependent and how a few months is nothing for me to complain about.  In fact, it makes me very grateful for my health. 

I also have been thinking a lot of those who have much more to worry about than buying gifts, sending cards and cleaning.  We know so many people right now who are hurting.  Some are struggling with health issues and are waiting for results of tests.  Some know the results and are dealing with a new challenge.  Some are struggling financially.   We know some who have recently lost jobs or businesses.  One who’s marriage is in danger.  One who is celebrating Christmas without her husband who’s stationed in Iraq.  Several who are celebrating Christmas without a loved one for the first time this year. 

I wish I could give monetarily to each one who needs it.  It really motivates me to plan better for next year and be a better steward, so that we have more to give at these times.   I wish I could comfort each hurting one and take away their pain, but that is also not in my power.  I know who has that power though and on each one’s behalf I ask for mercy and peace, and healing if that is His will. I know that He will walk with each one through whatever they are facing and no matter what the outcome, they can trust in Him.  He is a big God and He is good.   

 I didn’t intend to get so heavy, but it has been weighing on me.  Many of these people have walked with us through ‘stuff’ and I would like to do the same for them.  You know who you are.  I hope you also know that we are here for you. 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on December 20, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    Your list sounds a lot like mine. Later this afternoon I am off to…gasp…Douglasville…to wrap up the rest of my shopping. After being overdue at Christmastime last year, I can totally empathize with how you are feeling. I am very grateful NOT to be pregnant this Christmas.

    Reply

  2. Posted by kermooch on December 20, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Wow, you are brave to be heading all the way to Douglasville. I went there Monday, and it was kind of scary, so my prayers are with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

