She’s Here!

We made it through shopping, wrapping & performances.  We made through Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. We even made it through Christmas at my mom’s the day after.  However, at about 4:45am on Bill’s birthday (the 27th), labor pains started and did not go away.  We got to the hospital around 7 and at 1:14pm, Baby Girl Edger was born, weighing 10 lbs. 1 oz and measuring 21 inches long.  I say Baby Girl because Bill decided to tell me in the labor room that our original name had not ever really grown on him.  Great timing on his part 🙂 I  guess that I would rather have known then instead of finding out later when it was too late.  I think maybe he felt like he had some extra pull since it was his birthday. 

We were blessed with an uncomplicated delivery – although it was no picnic pushing out a 10 pound baby!  At that point, though, I was so happy to be able to push that I didn’t care.  Because of her size, her blood sugar had to be tested for 12 hours – but all of those came back normal.  We should have named her Sugar, because that seemed to be a running theme during the pregnancy.  I know it was that last week of Christmas yummies that put her over the 10 spot.  She had her first BM that evening – all of you who have ever had to wait for your baby to have a BM to be discharged will understand the importance of this 🙂  The next morning, the mid-wife, the pediatrician and the picture-taker came by in a very timely manner.  The nurse had all our papers ready for discharge after 1:15.  The only thing we were waiting on was a name!  We needed to fill out the birth certificate form and Baby Girl was not going to do.  So after several possibilities were discussed, we decided on a name we had considered for Dayleigh.  We kept our original middle name (thankfully)  and filled out her form…

 So welcome to the world, Sadie Faith Edger.  We’re so happy that you’re here!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kim on December 29, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    I love the name! I am glad she is here too. I can’t wait to come over and meet her.

    Reply

  2. Welcome little Sadie Faith!! I love the name! And Happy Birthday, Bill, what a precious gift you received on your special day!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Chris on December 30, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Congratulations Edger Family! Welcome Sadie Faith 🙂 Please let us know when you are ready for company.

    Reply

  4. Posted by scrabblenut on December 31, 2007 at 10:28 am

    Congratulations! Sadie Faith is a beautiful name. I’m glad to hear everything went well. Can’t wait to meet her!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Kim Smith on December 31, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    I love the name!! I think I left you a message that very day wondering how you were doing. I cannot wait to meet her.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Heidi on January 3, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Your blog audience is dying to see pics 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

