Bookworm

I was reading Kendra’s resolutions on her blog and agreed that those were all things that I would like to accomplish.  I was not brave enough to officially make them my resolutions, though.  The only one on the list that I wouldn’t have a problem with was reading more books.  I love to read and I go through stages where I consume several books over a few weeks.

Because nursing Sadie affords me more sit-down time than I normally have, I’ve read six books in the last month.  I started with a Jan Karon book my mom gave me for Christmas. I’ve enjoyed reading her work for several years.  She wrote the Mitford Series and this book was the first in her new ‘Father Tim’ Series called Home to Holly Springs.   It’s a great pleasure read, but it also has an underlying message about God’s providence.  What was reinforced for me through the story was that when God calls us, we are only responsible for being obedient to the call.  God will work out all of the details and has been working out the details long before we ever get involved.  It’s neat to see the events unfold as Father Tim follows God’s call to return to his hometown.

Then I moved on to the Yada Yada Prayer Group series by Neta Jackson.  These books, belonging to Bunny, have been circulating among the women at church and they finally ended up with me.  There are seven in the series and I read the first four.  Those of you who are in line ahead of me for books five through seven better read like the wind 🙂  I highly recommend them. I was challenged in the areas of praise & prayer as well as in racial relations.  The story is told through the eyes of Jodi Baxter, who could have been me when it comes to her daily struggles.  I love it when she is having trouble focusing on the group prayer because she is examining everyone’s manicures – or lack of.  I often find it difficult to quiet my mind and shut out all distractions.  I’ve already returned the books to Bunny, so if you hurry, maybe you can call dibs 🙂

The last one I read is also the first in a series (does anyone write stand-alone books anymore?)  It’s from another favorite author – Beverly Lewis.  She writes wonderful stories about the Amish community.  This one’s called The Parting and it’s in the Courtship of Nellie Fisher series.   It was also a great pleasure read that has a message of God’s grace and the longing that we all have to fill the void in our life that can only be filled by a personal relationship with Christ. 

 I would love suggestions for what to read next.   It can be fiction or nonfiction.  Otherwise, I’ll just have to use my Lemstone coupon and take my chances 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by shellygarvin on February 1, 2008 at 7:36 am

    I’m the one holding everyone up….almost done, I promise 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by heiditheophilus on February 3, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    I love the Mitford series! I had a sabbatical from fun reading due to grad, but stole Shepherd’s Abiding from my mom at Christmas & its on my pile next to the bed. I can’t wait to tackle it. I may have to “steal” the new Mitfords from you after I tackle Shepherd’s Abiding.

    As for recommendations, have you read “Swan House” & its sequel “Dwelling Place”? If not, you can borrow mine. They’re good! But it has to be followed up by brunch at Swan House in ATL to catch the full ambience!

    I don’t read NYT best sellers & mainstream secular books often, but I have recently enjoyed Khaled Hosseini’s Kite Runner & A Thousand Splendid Suns. However, now that you’re a pastor’s wife, I don’t know if you’d be allowed to read those due to some of the content 😉 LOL! If you’re interested, I have those as well.

    I also love missionary biogs (and most don’t have sequels). One that has recently been recommended to me is “In the Presence of My Enemies” about the Burhnams…my students are borrowing it like crazy. If you’re interested, I’ll let you borrow that one as well…if I can snag it back from a student! Also, “Mimosa” is a great one by Amy Carmichael.

    So many good books, so little time!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by kermooch on February 5, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions – I will look into those. I didn’t have to wait long for another book. Bill brought home the new John Grisham, so i am reading that now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

