Photo Basket Idea (aka scrapbooking for dummies)

I thought I’d share a neat idea I saw in Southern Living magazine several months ago.  I don’t know about you, but I am an intentional scrapbooker.  I always intend to do it, but I don’t.  I have lots of scrapbooking stuff, just not the time.  Actually I think it’s more of a space issue.  If I had a place where I could leave everything out so that it was ready for me to work on when I had a free moment, I would probably get some pages done.  Right now the only space that’s free is the unfinished part of the basement – which is a thought….

 Anyway ~ I got tired of developing pictures and having mounds of photos still in their envelopes or worse – having tons of undeveloped pics on my digital camera.  So when I saw this idea in SL I jumped on it.  It’s very simple and anyone can do it. 

First you need to pick out a basket.  Not too deep.  Something nice that can sit out on a coffee table or bookshelf.  I like to get baskets at Michaels when they are 50% off.  If you like things very orderly, you might want a nice square or rectangular basket.  If your more organic, you might prefer an oval shape.  I like both – it just depends on what mood I’m in 🙂

Next pick up several of the little photo albums – some peole call them brag books.  These are the 99 cent variety that are clear and have the little cardboard insert in the cover that’s removable.  I also usually get these at Michaels and if you watch the sales, you can pick them up for about 60 cents. 

Get your pictures out from wherever they’ve been hiding.  Sort by event or theme – for instance, a birthday or holiday, or cats, or a trip.  Take the cardboard insert out of the book and replace it with a photo. I like to pick the best photo, or one that sums up whatever is going in the book.  Then just fill the book.   Repeat this until you have several books filled.  Now you can fill your basket with the books and place it somewhere that allows family and guests to browse.  Keep empty books on hand, so that each time you get pics developed, you can fill one up and toss it in the basket and voila – instant ‘scrapbook’ 

The kids love to look at these all the time.  Dayleigh especially.  Toddlers love faces and we have to go through the books over and over saying each persons name. 

They also make great gifts, particularly for parents & grandparents.  I did it for all of mine this Christmas.  I found cute baskets for $5-7 and put one filled book in with several empty books.  Now, they can put pictures people send right in the books or I can just send them a filled book and they can add it to the basket. 

It’s also great for all the school pics people send that go on the fridge for a while and then you don’t know where to put them 🙂  After Christmas, I cut all the photo cards to size and put them in the book with the Christmas photos. 

It’s one of those simple ideas that I get all excited about because  1 – it’s easy, 2 – it’s cheap, and 3 – it involves organization.  Hope you like it, too.

4 responses to this post.

  1. A#1 – Glad your back to the blog…missed your blog 🙂
    A#2 – I LOVE the Michael’s el-cheapoo photo book deals! We use them to fill with pics to send to Georgia every few months so she can see what her daddy has been up to here in the states – different places he goes, hockey games, etc. She loves them & takes them to school for show & tell. We’ll probably do the same when she comes this summer so she can put her pics in there to take back to show her mummy & step-brother!

    Reply

  2. Posted by scrabblenut on January 31, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Great idea! I love it. I’ve wanted to do something with all my pictures for so long, and I’ve always been interested in the idea of scrapbooking, but it just seems so daunting. This really seems like a project that is more my size. Thanks for posting.

    Reply

  3. […] photo albums are still empty, but thanks to Kerri’s great idea, I have renewed enthusiasm for this resolution. And besides, I have eleven more months to […]

    Reply

  4. I am an intentional scrapbooker too! Same problem no space to leave it out…and I hate the mess and the time it takes to do them! This is a great idea!!! I will have to do this one! I am sure my pictures will increase in upcoming months : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

