Appliances on strike

Well, the writers in hollywood are on strike, and now I think my appliances may be on strike, too.  Friday our garage door opener broke.  This is not a necessity of life, but I sure do love it.  I am thankful that at least it waited to break until after I had the baby.  We didn’t have an opener when I was pregnant with Dayleigh and it was not easy to get in and out of the van on an incline with a big belly 🙂  I’m sure the neighbors found it amusing to watch.

Today the dryer decided to call it quits.  It’s fourteen years old and has done many, many loads of laundry, so it’s not a surprise.   I am always thrilled to make it through another week of laundry with a functioning washer and dryer.  The unfortunate thing is that it quit on me when I have a toddler who woke up last night with a stomach bug.   I am thankful that the washer still works, so at least I can wash the messy bedding and PJ’s.

Add to that the router that will not cooperate so that we can get Bill’s laptop online so he can get a head start working for church (more on this to come – I promise, Kim 🙂 )

Then I read Kim’s blog on her  fridge that finally gave it up and I start to wonder.  I think maybe the Amish have the right idea with the whole no electricity thing.  They may not have the modern conveniences that we have, but then they don’t have to deal with the inconveniences when they don’t work properly or at all.

Then again, unless I grew up without all these handy appliances, I don’t think I could make the switch at this point in my life.  I get impatient when the computer takes too long and it’s a modern marvel.  I certainly don’t think I’d have the patience to hitch up the horse everytime I had to go somewhere and to hand wash and hang all of our clothes.  And heaven help me if I had to use an outhouse!  🙂

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on February 7, 2008 at 10:09 am

    You have inspired me to blog about my appliances too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lora on February 7, 2008 at 10:26 am

    You know, I’d hitch up the horse for you…..

    Reply

  3. I seem to blog regularly about my appliances, too. My dishwasher gave it up a couple of months ago. The fridge is making strange “noises” and I wonder how much longer it will be with us. The vacuum cleaner started smoking. I had to replace my handmixer last week. Never a dull moment in the world of modern conveniences. Funny how they always seem to go out at once. 😉

    ~Debi

    Reply

  4. Update to my earlier comment: My fridge is no longer making strange “noises” … because it’s now officially dead. LOL!

    ~Debi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

