2 Spays and a Neuter … no make that 3 Spays

Last week we took our momma cat and her two six-month-old kittens to a non-profit that does cat spays and neuters for a great price.  It’s called Catsnip if you should have a need in that area.  The momma’s name is Fig and she’s full of fire.  The babies are Alphie (because he was the firstborn or alphamale) and Cami (because her calico print looks like camouflage) Now, when Fig had her five kittens, I told the kids that there was no way I was keeping any of them, so not to get attached.  We managed to give away three at Kroger to some suckers, er I mean nice people who happened by.  Unfortunately, Alphie had managed to worm his way into staying because he is the most unique looking cat and he had a really neat personality.  I should know from past experience that they only act cute until they have ingratiated themselves into a home.  Then they show their true colors.  But that’s not my point. Cami didn’t get taken and even though she was the least favorite at the time, she also managed to ingratiate herself into staying.  Mainly because we needed her to keep the other one from driving us crazy. 

 Anyway, I was so excited to get this done for the cats because I was worried that momma was going to get in the family way again and we would be back where we started.  So we dropped them off Tuesday morning.

Around 1 o’clock, I received  a phone call from Amy at Catsnip saying that the cats were fine and in ‘recovery’, but she just wanted to let me know that Alphie was not a boy, but was indeed a girl. 

Now, if you’re not a cat person, it may be hard for you to comprehend (or care) about the shock this caused.  When you think for six months that your sweet kitten is a cute little boy. it totally throws you for a loop to find out that he’s not.  We even called him (her) ‘little boy’.  And he (she) looks like a little boy.  We went around dumbfounded all day until we went to pick them up.  Then it was like we left one cat there, gone forever and picked up a totally different one.

It has been almost a week now and I still have a hard time looking at Alphie as a girl.  I’m getting better with it.  She’s still the same sweet little cat and I guess that’s all that matters.  But a few things that I’m taking with me from this experience are 1) don’t be so busy that you don’t have time to verify the sex of your cat, especially when your daughter, who has no experience with those things, makes the initial call and 2)  the old saying is true even for cats – don’t judge a book by it’s cover – cause you might be surprised at what’s inside and 3) mean what you say – I would never have known if I had just stuck by my initial statement –  I would be living in ignorance of Alphie’s womanhood, which in this case, would have been bliss 🙂

alphie-cami.jpg

5 responses to this post.

  1. That is the funniest thing! But I say, better the cat than the baby, right?! LOL 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by kermooch on March 11, 2008 at 8:46 am

    That’s for sure!

    Reply

  3. Posted by scrabblenut on March 11, 2008 at 10:38 am

    They are so cute and grown up!! I actually heard a little bit about this incident from facebook. Katelyn said she was “dramatised” that her boy cat was actually a girl. I got a good chuckle out of that. 🙂

    Reply

  4. We had the same exact thing happen with our kitten! We named “him” Cleveland. We took “him” to get “neutered” six months later found out he just got spayed : ) After a year it is still funny and weird!
    I must say on the whole baby thing…I felt about the same feeling when I found out I was having a boy…didn’t see that one coming!

    Reply

  5. Kendra, I hope that is a term used by the younger set and not a reflection of her ‘schooling’. 🙂
    Trisha, that makes me feel a little less foolish. I remember now about Cleve. Funny thing is we had this same thing happen with Fig – the owner told us she was a he and we took their word for it until we found out a few weeks later that he (whose name was Finnegan) was a she (which was shortened to Fig)
    And congrats on your sweet baby boy! I don’t think I’ve seen you since you found out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

