Putting it out there

Lately I have been feeling a bit overwhelmed by it all.  By ‘it all’, I mean all the activities, all the stuff I watch, listen to, read, etc.  I am having a hard time focusing on the important.  So, I have decided to fast in order to ‘cleanse’ my mind.  How do I intend to do that?   I will give up all books, except my Bible. Instead of reading whatever book I have on the nightstand when I go to bed, I will immerse myself in the Word.

 I will also give up my Nintendo DS.  It’s hard for me to admit that I have a DS (for those less nerdy than me, that’s just a nicer gameboy) Bill gave it to me a few years ago.  I love to play the thinking & puzzle games, like Scrabble, Brain Age, stuff like that.  I play it when I’m feeding the baby because I have a hard time sitting without doing something.  It’s relaxing and I like the challenge of beating my personal best.  During feedings, I’ll replace that activity with more intentional prayer. 

I’m not going to give up blogs, but I am going to limit myself to one look a day for my favorites and once a week for the others I enjoy.

None of these things are bad.  I just feel like I am crowding out what God may be trying to say to me with other ‘stuff’.  I need to purge. I need a system restore. I need to be still and know.

And …  I am also going to give up Coke.  Gasp!  This will be a tough one for me, but God has been prodding me to make a change in this area.  I thought by fasting, I could ease into it.  I am curious to see what the difference in me will be without the caffeine (once I get through the withdrawal) and calories.

I know that I am too late for Lent.  My middle initial is L and sometimes I think it stands for late (my husband says Amen!) Instead,  I am going to do it backwards and use Easter as my springboard and fast for 40 days after that.  It’s an ambitious undertaking because it involves changing several habits and we all know how hard that is 🙂 That’s why I am putting it out there – I need some accountability.  So I will report on my progress weekly starting on Monday.   Hopefully I will make it through to the other side 🙂 

Maybe you have given something up for a fast – I invite you to comment on your experience.  Or maybe you’re like me and you need a little focus.  In that case, I invite you to join me! 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on March 21, 2008 at 6:38 am

    OK, now I have guilt 😦

    Reply

  2. Posted by eastergrace on March 22, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    I gave up Cokes about 3 months ago (went into a state of depression,after all it is one of my best friends!) and also sweet tea. When I was going through menopause and felt like I could have slapped the world from me being so edgy, a Coke and 3 Tylenol were my best friends,always settling me right down.
    It was tough at first,especially when I was around someone that was popping the top,you know that famously yummy sound that sets you up for what’s coming next….. the exquisite, delectable first ice cold swallow that quenches your throat like no other! Whew,,there I go romancing again! :~(
    I did get over it though and water is my main staple now. Just hang in there with it.
    I have to admit though that every once in a while when I’m in a “fret” I search one of the red friendly familiar cans out and delight myself in an old comforting friendship and it gives me warm (well, maybe cold) fuzzies all over. I think it might be okay to do that once in awhile. I’m in your corner, you can do this!!!
    A fellow” Coke be gone” sojourner,Bunny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

