Goodbye old friend

After over three years of faithful service, I have to say goodbye to an old friend.  My silver & blue Sharp T190 from T-Mobile .  Yep, that’s right it’s my cell phone.  Bill wanted to have matching camera phones so we could send each other pictures, so we got two for free when we signed up.  They did come in handy on several occasions.  He would take silly pictures when he was in training all day and send them to me.  He also sent me a picture of a sweater he wanted at Kohl’s 🙂  It was especially useful when my camera battery died in the delivery room when Dayleigh was born. 

About a year and a half ago, he had to have a new phone.  Me, I was happy with my old faithful.  It worked for what I wanted – to make & receive calls.  I don’t need email, music, internet or the ability to make calls in other countries.  I figure that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.  Of course his new phone didn’t have a camera, so it wasn’t as much fun to be able to take pictures. 

Since he’s on staff at the church now, he wanted to have the same plan they do to make the most of our minutes.  This makes sense, but it means that I have to give up my phone and get a new one.  The kids are already casting lots for the right to have it as a play phone.  I don’t know how I feel about that.

I went with a refurbished one that does all kinds of stuff that I probably won’t ever need, but it was free, so why not 🙂  It has the quad band for international calling, so I guess I can look at that as being ready for the mission field. Or for that trip to Italy 🙂  And it’s red.  I like red.

It was kind of sad though, to pull my old one out of my purse and replace it with Red.  She got me out of a lot of jams and kept me in touch with those I love.  So thanks Sharp.  It was good talking through you.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I have had a phone attachment before too! It was “Big Red”. Only slightly smaller than the Zach Morris cell phone from Saved by the Bell, it fulfilled its purpose for almost 4 years! It didn’t do pictures, internet, fancy ring tones or anything other than call people. Now when my snazzy little slider phone accidentally connects me to the internet or is too complicated to even figure out how to find my address book, I reminisce on my old faithful “Big Red”. : )

    Reply

  2. Posted by brumbemom on April 18, 2008 at 7:37 am

    That is very funny. I have a similar relationship with my phone of many years. Travis needs to get a new one and wants to do the buy one get one free, but I am not ready to part with mine. She has been faithful and I think she deserves my loyalty. 😎

    Reply

  3. I’m assuming that now you are “in”…you know, with Verizon? If so, there are several of us you can talk to free b/c we’re “in” … myself, Dawn, Christine, the Whipples, and many others I’m sure. Don’t be sad about departing with your phone, think of all the many conversations you can now have for free!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

