Van problems and other stuff

We dropped off the van this morning to have it looked at and I’m waiting to hear THE NEWS.  I always get a little lurch in my stomach when the auto place comes up on the caller ID.  I dread hearing words like, “Well, Mrs. E, looks like you’re going to need a new engine…”  So I am trying to keep busy – which is not hard to do.  In fact I have at least three projects going on top of the regular day-to-day stuff.  Did I mention that I’m AADD (that’s adult attention deficit disorder) Would that be A²D²?  I should copyright that.  I might  make some money off of it with the right marketing.  Anyway…

One project is whole house clean-out.  It has been a lot tougher than I anticipated to get done.  School, laundry, groceries and all that other stuff keep getting in the way 🙂  Not to mention that the toddler and the baby seem to be tag-teaming to monopolize every spare moment.  Don’t they know I’m doing this for them??  Their mother would be less stressed with a nice organized home.  It’s really a necessity with six kids ~ they have a lot of stuff.  When I get it done, I’m going to have to have a talk with the grandparents about keeping the stuff to a minimum.  It’s really all their fault 🙂  I just wish I could give the house a laxative and have everything just empty out.  As it is, I am having to deal with my inner pack-rat.  I have a hard time getting rid of things that either mean something or might come in handy later on.  I find that I argue with myself a lot when I’m trying to decide what to get rid.  It’s very tiring.

My other project, which is a spin off of the above, is Katelyn’s room. We were able to buy some things for her room at a neighbor’s yard sale using our yard sale money, which got the ball rolling on that.  See separate post for details & pics.

I’m also trying to tackle my desk which has been neglected for too long.  I have some great ideas to make it more efficient, but alas I lack the time and energy.  That’s a project that’s ideal for nighttime, but lately I have been too spent to do anything that requires brain cells after the kids are in bed.

In a few weeks we will be finishing Dayleigh and Sadie’s room, so that will be a whole new project.  We’ve already bought a bed for Dayleigh from another neighbor’s yard sale with, you guessed it, our yard sale money 🙂 

My goal is to finish the clean-out before it gets too hot to have one last yard sale.  We’ll probably need the money from it pay for this van repair.  Should I be worried that they haven’t called yet?  I hate to be a pest, but if they don’t call soon, I’m going to call.  Until then, both little ones are quiet and contained so I’m off to work on some of my projects!

 

 

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on April 30, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    If you ever get your hands on some house laxative, send some my way 🙂

    Reply

  2. You are Wonder Woman! I just finished a “house laxative” getting ready to put the house up. It was a mess and took forever…and I don’t even have children…well ones out in the open : ) I admire you for tackling this daunting task!

    Reply

  3. Posted by heiditheophilus on May 1, 2008 at 5:31 am

    A#1 – I’m rolling on the floor…I love this post more than a million melons!
    A#2 – I am feeling you this week on this issue
    B#1 – House Laxatives?! Really? I’m envisioning a cartoon of this already. I mean, if Popeye can do the whole eat spinach & grow muscles thing, why can’t you do the house pop a laxative in the hot water heater & the house purge itself?!?!?!
    B#2 – Yard sale is going on Sat, so if you want to try to sell some of your stuff, I’d be happy to sell some stuff for you AND hold the baby in the process 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

