Shamed

Sometimes when things go wrong, especially many things at once, and I start asking ‘why me’, there will come a moment when I feel shame over my minuscule faith.  That came yesterday after the fourth or fifth person (I lost count) from church called to offer help in some way for our van woes.  Whether it was a referral for someone reliable to fix it or the offering of a car to drive, the support just rolled in.  We are ridiculously blessed in this regard and so thankful for those God has placed in our life to be His hands and feet.

I have to say that I did not have a complete meltdown as I might have in times past. So maybe I have learned something 🙂  But there has still been some worry coloring my days since Wednesday.  Money of course is an issue – even with an emergency fund, this blows that plus some out of the water.  The thing that is bothering me the most is not being able to go somewhere together as a family.  You don’t realize how precious that is until you can’t do it.  On a minor note, I’m aggravated at myself that I put $80 in gas in the van before we took it in 🙂

We’re going today for a second opinion just to make sure.  Then we’ll go from there.  In the grand scheme of things this is just a tiny, itty-bitty blip on the radar.  It just feels a little bigger right now. But I will choose not to worry.  Afterall  Matthew 6:26 & 27 tells us…

 ” Look at the birds of the air: they do not sow or reap, or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

On the contrary, I wonder how many hours we subtract from our life by worrying?  I definitely have much better things to do with mine!

 

Leave a Reply

