The Best Gifts

I’ve been a mother for almost fifteen years and I’ve received many different gifts on Mother’s Day.  Some had to do with making life easier like things for the kitchen or my ‘office’.  I’ve also received things to aid in relaxation like books and CD’s.  Sometimes I’ve gotten flowers in hanging baskets to please my eye.  I’ve been the recipient of many hand~made gifts such as photographs, handprints, drawings and notes which I especially love.  Some years I’ve had breakfast in bed and others have seen a dinner out or a dinner made with love by Bill & the kids.  I’ve been very blessed with a thoughtful husband and children, as these are all wonderful gifts.

But by far, the best gifts I have ever received for Mother’s Day have been my children themselves.  I never in my wildest imaginings thought that I would have six.  They have taught me far more than I have taught them.  Watching their accomplishments has been far more rewarding than any of my own.  The opportunity to raise them in a way pleasing to God has been a better gift than anything that could come from a store. 

Sometimes it is easy to get caught up in the commercialization of Mother’s Day.  Everything around us says that we need to take Mom to dinner, buy her flowers and jewelry in order to tell her we love her.  I’ll admit that I have been guilty of feeling this way.  I want my mom to know how much I appreciate her and the sacrifices she made to raise me, especially now that I know from first~hand experience!  And sometimes I have felt deep down that if Bill and the kids didn’t do something nice for me that maybe I’m not doing a good enough job as a mother.  Ironically it was my mom who changed my focus.  One mother’s day a few years ago she wrote a letter to me about the day I born, her feelings as a new mom and what it has meant to her to see me grow up and start raising children of my own.   In it she said that she didn’t need a gift, because I was the best gift she could ever receive.  It meant alot to me and it took the pressure off trying to find the perfect gift to give her and expecting Bill to figure out the perfect gift to give me 🙂 

Now I think of every day as mother’s day because my children give me gifts every day.  Some days I have to look a little harder to find them 🙂 , but they are always there.  In a smile.  In a hug.  In an “I Love you, Mom”.  Those are the gifts that I cherish the most.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on May 7, 2008 at 6:43 am

    I needed this, Kerri. I feel like I am really underappreciating my kids lately, like I can’t see all the greatness hidden beneath the chaos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

