15!

Fifteen years ago today, I became a mother for the first time (not counting the 9 1/2 months that I was pregnant!) I was overdue by 12 days and ready to be done.  We had gone to the zoo the day before and walked and walked and walked.  That night we came home, had Taco Bell for dinner and around midnight my water broke.  Eleven hours later, daughter #1 was born.  She thinks that this is why she loves Taco Bell to this day.  I’m pretty sure that I also had a Dr. Pepper that night, too 😉

Now, I have younger siblings, so I had some experience with helping to take care of children, but nothing could prepare me for the unexplainable and all-encompassing feelings that came with parenthood.  It amazes me that our oldest has made it this far and turned out as well as she has 🙂 I’m sure it had something to do with the prayers sent up on her behalf, because we sure didn’t know what we were doing! It’s also incredible to see how much she is like both me and my husband.  Fortunately for her, she also has a personality that’s uniquely her own 🙂  It’s hard to believe that the little girl that took her first steps toward us is old enough to start driving and forging her own path. 

We’re proud of all her accomplishments ~ from school to sports, but most of all we’re proud of the young woman she’s become.  One who is kind, funny, creative and loves Jesus.  And what post about her would be complete without mentioning her passion for animals ~ especially cats 🙂

So Happy 15th Birthday, K!  Our family wouldn’t be the same without you! 

                                        Sweet Smile            Easter \'08

Leave a Reply

