Free Vacation

I’m sitting in my dad’s living room in North Carolina, looking out on Lake Norman, enjoying some peace and quiet.  Some of my uncles and their families will be coming up later today and tomorrow, so we are taking advanage of having the house to ourselves today. 

For us, this is an ideal spot to vacation.  My dad moved into a new house a couple of years ago and it is like a resort.  Some of the amenities include a new pool with hottub, outdoor fireplace and mini-kitchen, brand new game-room with foosball, air hockey, arcade games, pool table. Exercise room (yawn), Nintendo Wii, Rock band, lake with dock & 3 boats, four fully stocked fridges, 2 pantries, also stocked.  I think my dad invites us every year so the kids will clean them out for him. 

We have yet to get in the pool because the temp dropped to 70, which normally I love, but I feel for the kids who are dying to get in the pool.  It’s supposed to be in the 80’s tomorrow, so hopefully they get their chance.  I don’t share any of this to brag.  Obviously, I have nothing to do with it 🙂  My dad works hard at his own business to ‘have it all’.  It’s just exciting for us to be able to get to relax and have fun with the kids for a few days, without having to leave his house!!  It’s also nice to spend some time with my dad and his wife and my little sister.

I would post a beautiful pic of the lake, but I left my cord at home.  Maybe I’ll remember to post it when we get back.  But now I’ve gotta go… the rock band needs it’s drummer!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on May 29, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Enjoy it! You guys sure deserve a break.

    Reply

  2. Posted by eastergrace on May 29, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Lordy be!! Sounds like paradise to me!!! And in my home state! My favorite part was when you wrote you were enjoying some peace and quiet. Now that has to be something that is precious in a home of 8+ people. I praise Jesus for that precious time for you,Kerri. You are no doubt way deserving of it! I pray you bask in every single moment!

    Reply

  3. Posted by eastergrace on May 29, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Oh yeah, you GO drummer girl!!!

    Reply

  4. Yay for vacations – particularly free ones! We’re at Best Western tonight & off to NY tomorrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

