Where in the USA R U?

Hey everybody – we need your help!  We’re going to be starting a unit study using the Fifty States this coming school year.  In fact, we’re going to be doing a few things over the summer when the heat makes it unbearable outside.  I thought it would be neat to see if we could collect postcards from all fifty states before the end of the school year. So if you live in another state and would mail us a post card, that would be great. 

 I know a lot of people also go on vacation over the summer, so I wanted to get this out now.  I should have done it a few weeks ago, because I know some of you are already on state-crossing vacations (C & H L 🙂 ) So if you do go on vacation and feel like picking up a postcard and either dropping it in the mail or bringing it back, we would love it!  It’s going to be a challenge, but I think it will be neat to see how many we can get.  I’m thinking that we might have to go ahead and schedule that trip to Hawaii to pick up that one 🙂 

We’re hoping to be able to display all of them at the Expo our homeschool groups has at the end of the year, along with all the cool things we’ll be learning about the states.  So thanks in advance and we’ll keep you posted on our progress!

6 responses to this post.

  1. We’re on it! We’ve got one postcard from NY we can send. We’ll try to pick some up today in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Hope out of the country is OK as well?! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by brumbemom on June 5, 2008 at 6:51 am

    Hey, if you would like to expand your unit study to the world, I will finally have an excuse to make that trip to Italy that I have been planning for quite sometime 😉 Also, I added another “whose said it” to the end of my post today. I know you’ve been waiting to play.

    Reply

  3. Posted by brumbemom on June 5, 2008 at 7:16 am

    Re: Your comment on my blog.(I never know whether to reply to people on their blog or mine, what do you think?)
    Anyway, Wow, I am so totally impressed with your knowledge. We definitely have to share notes sometime. I thought for sure no one would know that one. You are good! 😎
    And, no, I have never read those books, but would love to.

    Reply

  4. Posted by kermooch on June 9, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I would be happy to expand it to a world study. I think I would like to help you hand-pick that one,though, so let me know when we leave 🙂

    And I’ll try to remember to bring the books when I see you next.

    Reply

  5. Posted by scrabblenut on June 11, 2008 at 9:07 am

    I just realized I forgot to comment on this one. We’ll be in Utah the end of July. I’ll try to remember to send you some postcards.

    Reply

  6. […] and it helped me to narrow down some of my options. I picked up a few fun things to do with our states unit that I think they kids will enjoy. I also picked up some of paper and art supplies for the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

