The Day the TIVO Died

If you have a Tivo or DVR, need I say more?  About four years ago, I got Bill a Tivo for his birthday.  He had been wanting one and our satellite company (Directv – excellent service, by the way)  had a great special at the time, so I surprised him with it.  Now, I just did not see what could be that great about a box that records tv shows.  We had a VCR and I just don’t watch that much tv.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  Yesterday, our tivo was pronounced dead and it got me thinking about all the reasons I had come to love the little guy.

1 ~ NO MORE COMMERCIALS.  Not only do I not have to be bombarded with ads – many  of them distasteful – but my kids don’t have to either.  I’ve noticed that even at prime time during family type shows, the networks are not bothering to tailor their commercial content to that demographic.  I’m tired of having to shield eyes or jump in front of the tv every five minutes.  Also, I’m able to watch a whole show because I don’t fall asleep waiting through commercials 🙂  And it saves time.  We can watch an hour long show in about 40 minutes.  I love saving time.  We just wait about 30 mintues after a show begins to start watching. We spend that time doing other stuff.   An added bonus –  no more being strung on by hosts who say “we’ll find out, right after the break” (Take that Ryan Seacrest!)  Just hit fast forward (we call it the boop boop, because that’s the sound it makes) and you can find your results.  

2 ~ Watch shows when I want to.  I might have mentioned that things around here tend to get busy.  Sometimes I can’t just stop what I’m doing to watch a program.  There’s only a few that I watch regularly, but once I’m hooked I don’t like to miss them.  Enter the season pass.  You simply add a season pass for your show and it records it every time it comes on.  You can also watch one show and record another, which is great because it always seems like the few shows I watch come on the same night at the same time.  Then you can watch it at your convenience. This also works well for kids shows.  The kids usually watch a program right after lunch, but the ones they like are usually not on then.  Right now their favorites are Phineas & Ferb and Scooby, so we just record those and they’re available when we need them.  I also record educational shows to use for school. The kids love this feature 🙂

3 ~ Pause and rewind.  Did you miss something because a baby was crying or a circus just came through your living room?  Just rewind and find out what happened.  Answering the phone or the call of nature? Pause and take your time.  You can pause for up to thirty minutes.  There’s also slow-mo which can be fun to use.  People’s facial expressions are really funny in slow-mo.  Also useful for dissecting plays in sports.

So, I’m sorry if I sound like a commercial for tivo.  I was a skeptic once, but after using it, I have been won over.  I compare the experience to switching from dial-up to DSL or from a tape deck to an ipod. You just can’t go back.  That’s why I was glad that we hadn’t remembered to cancel our replacement plan. (Sorry Dave Ramsey)  For a few dollars a month, all of the equipment was protected, which means that a new unit will arrive in a couple of days at no cost to us, keeping our emergency fund intact for more pressing issues, like van repairs 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Why does it have to take so long to get here?! I want it here now.

    Reply

  2. Posted by shellygarvin on June 17, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Thanks…now I want a tivo 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Debby Morton on July 1, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I love my DVR and wonder how I ever got by before I had it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

