Got me some bangs

I went to the stylist the other day in need of a trim.  I knew I needed to do something about my baby chick hair.  This is what I call the phase of hairdos that comes after you’ve had a baby, after you shed frightening amounts of hair and the new hair starts to grow in.  You get little fuzzy patches that remind me of baby chickens, except it doesn’t look nearly as cute as they do.  So you have thinning hair on top with super-short pieces sprouting out of the front.  It’s one of my least favorite side-effects of giving birth.  I mean, can we not keep something from our pre-pregnancy days??

Anyway, my stylist (Stephanie at Hairworx in Hiram) suggested a heavy bang to help disguise my not-so-cute chick ‘do.  I was feeling crazy (or maybe just tired and didn’t care -I don’t know) so I said ‘go for it’.  After losing even more hair to her scissors, I got a glimpse at my coif.  It was definitely different, which was good. So off I went to do some errands.  I always like to do errands after getting my haircut because I like to maximize the time when your hair actually looks like the stylist intended it to look.  After catching my reflection in a few store mirrors, I keep thinking my hair reminded me of someone else’s hair.  Entering Target, I finally realized who.  It’s Mitchie’s hair from Camp Rock.  My fear was confirmed when I came home and told Bill, to hear my daughter from the other room saying “that’s the first thing I thought when I saw you”.  I say fear because I’m not sure I want to appear to be trying to look like a 15-year-old Disney channel star 🙂 

It really cracked me up this morning when my 6-year-old son said, in a very thoughtful tone, “Mom, your hair looks like Mitchie’s on Camp Rock. Pause  Is Dad going to get hair like Joe (Jonas)?”

I haven’t decided if I’m going to keep styling it that way or go back to my old side-part ways.  So if you see a 30+year-old mommy about town who looks a little like Mitchie from Camp Rock, it may or may not be me 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. LOL…I recommend Christy Porter at Hair Matters in Dallas. A good friend & a good hair cut. Its always like a time of coffee twalk to get a cut (& perhaps the occasional color…not that I’m not naturally blonde…hmmmm)

    As for Kingdom Education, you WILL borrow my copy when I return from this torture known as doctoral education unless you would like to order it from Lemstone, Lifeway, or Amazon.com. The author is Glen Schultz. Def a must-read if for no other reason than affirming your calling to homeschool.

    Reply

  2. Posted by scrabblenut on July 10, 2008 at 8:08 am

    That is so funny. 18 months later I am still fighting with “chick hair”, only now it is all about 8 inches long and for some reason, much curlier than my pre-baby hair.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

