The Monkey List

I have this list that I like to call the Monkey List.  It’s a special to-do list of those things that are really bugging me that I want/need to get done, but haven’t been able to.  What usually prevents me from getting to this list is the regular daily to-do list.  I call it the monkey list because they are like little monkeys on my back, jumping up and down, making crazy monkey noises and demanding my attention.  When my monkey list gets too long, I find that I get overwhelmed to the point that I am no longer productive.  I feel like a computer with too much stuff crammed on my hard drive and I can no longer function properly.  In order to do so, I have to ‘clear up some memory’, if you will. The only way to do that is to attack the monkey list with a vengeance.

                                                                             

 

 

To do that I have to shut out other distractions so I can focus on the task at hand and dispatch each monkey efficiently.  I have learned that I work best when I go with whatever ‘zone’ I’m in.  Whether the zone is creative, organizational, manual labor, office-y, whatever, it’s best if I match the task with the zone.  I can really accomplish a lot that way.  Of course, sometimes we all have to do whatever is necessary to get something done when it needs to be done, regardless of our mood, but given the choice, this is what works for me.  With each monkey dispatched, I gain momentum.  The list is shrinking and I am functioning better and better.  I can see the end…but wait…another monkey has jumped on.  I feel like a zookeeper.  Who let all these monkeys out of their cages? Now I’m being really silly 🙂  For those who don’t know me (and maybe some who do), I’m not crazy – I don’t talk to the monkeys or give them names or anything.

The reason I mention this list is that I’m in the process of working on one that has gotten totally out of hand.  I feel like it is hampering my day-to-day activities and stifling my creativity and I’ve had enough. I have a small window of opportunity to make some headway, so I am sorry all of you little chimps, but you’ve got to go.  You’re making me go bananas!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on July 14, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    I have a similar list hanging over my head. I’ve had this idea for a while that I would set aside one day each week to tackle something from the list. Of course, scheduling that time is one of the things on my list. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I’m not one of your “monkeys” am I?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

