9 months and counting…

Well, Bill and I made a life-changing decision. Yes, we made a life changing decision last year that came to fruition nine months ago when Bill joined the staff at the church.  What did you think I was talking about??

It’s one of those paradoxical things that seems like yesterday and a million years ago (listen to me – I’m sounding like a carbon-dating scientist) at the same time. It’s like we got on a roller coaster and never got off.  It has been great and hard and rewarding and tiring and encouraging and frustrating and faith-building and scary all rolled into one.  Here are the ups and downs from my perspective – in a nutshell – and in no particular order.

Up – People have been awesome.  It’s humbling to have someone tell you that they are praying for you. It’s also edifying to be encouraged by others and amazing when they bestow a gift on your family out of the blue.  God’s children are so amazingly generous like that. They get it from their Father.

Down – Being under attack.  I thought at first it was my imagination, but now I know it’s true.  When Bill comes home from a staff meeting and says “Listen to this awesome thing we’re going to be doing next week”, I have been programmed to yell “incoming!” and drop down with watch out for flaming arrows.  If he’s going to a conference or retreat, then I put full body armor and get in the bunker.  Father help me if he ever goes to Africa! Being under attack usually means there’s some major life-changes around the corner, which brings me to my next up…

Up – Seeing people’s lives changed.  I will never get tired of that.  I may get zombie-walking, fog-inducing, bone-tired, but seeing people make a 180-degree- turn-around and not look back makes it all worth while.

Down – Fishbowl Syndrome.  Thankfully these days I am too busy to worry about what people think (God is merciful in this). Sometimes when I have a moment to think, though,  I wonder if I am being the example that I need to be.  I don’t know why I even worry – most people are probably too busy to even watch fish, but just in case…

Up – Friendships.  Awww, that sounds so warm and fuzzy.  In reality, it can be tough to nurture friendships, but it’s worth the effort.  I have enjoyed getting to know the other staff wives better (everytime I say ‘staff wives’, I see a flash of the Stepford Wives in my head – crazy, I know). We don’t have opportunities to ‘hang-out’ as often as we’d like, so when you see us talking in church, it’s often the only chance we’ve had all week to catch up!

Down – Raising support – in a wild economy, no less.  We are still working on it and praying with expectancy.  ‘Nuf said.

Up – Being in the know.  This is a silly one, but it’s fun to witness the process of what emerges as a totally off-the-wall idea and watch how it comes to fruition – and how God uses it to change lives.

Up – Seeing Bill off to work each day to do something he loves.  It’s an answer to a wife’s fervent prayers.

And since I like to end on a positive, that’s the end of the ride for now.  I wait with eager anticipation to see what else God has in store.

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by shellygarvin on November 20, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Great post Kerri 🙂 Having a front row view of lives being changed is the best part for me. I love and miss you guys!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Krista on December 5, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Well I think this leap of faith has been good for all even though I can only imagine how tough it must be. You can see the joy in Bill that the banks were draining from him and it’s nice to see. Funny you used that verse – I’ve come across it several times lately. Always a good one to remember.

    Reply

  3. Posted by eastergrace on December 6, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Well, Kerri, BORING is just not a word in your vocabulary in any aspect of your life! How awesome though,that God has set such sights on your family and He’s using you in such a fabulous way, ups and downs and all of it! I’d say without hesitation that your family is richly blessed and that it blesses many people. I know it blessed me often.
    Carry on, God’s special little army!!!!
    Much love to you, Bunny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

