Fat Boy comes home

Before you go thinking I am speaking rudely about another person, please read on. Tonight we went to get our Christmas tree. As long as I can remember, we have had a live tree. I’ll have to ask my mom if we’ve ever had anything else, but I don’t think so. So every year, we still go pick out a tree, haul it home, string lights on it and decorate it. Stringing lights is one of my least favorite things in the world, but I also won’t let anyone else do it, so it’s my own fault that I have to. Actually, I would let my mom do it, but so far I haven’t been able to talk her into it.

Anyway…usually picking out a tree takes forever because I am too picky. That one’s too thin, that one’s lopsided, that one has no character πŸ™‚ This year, though, we got done in record time according to the teenager, who keeps track of such things.

We passed by a couple of trees and then we saw the one that came to be known as fat boy. At first I balked at it. Too fat, I thought. I like a nice tapered look. I walked by a couple of others, but Bill said he really liked FB and it seemed unanimous among the rest of the family. So I conceded. Lots of room for ornaments, I figured, which we need. We notified the tree man and after a fierce battle of tug-of-war, they got him through the net thing and lashed him to the roof.

We got him home.Β  Bill took out my key rack that was screwed into the wall bringing him in,but after that and after trimming a few more branches off the bottom, he was up. We clipped the net and everyone took cover as we took it off. It only takes up half the living room πŸ™‚

Now I need to go to bed, because it’s going to take all I got to string the lights. We’ll probably have to buy a few (dozen) more strands. Then the mass confusion decorating will commence.

I’ll try to post pics when he’s all dressed so you can all meet Fat Boy, too πŸ™‚

8 responses to this post.

  1. Love it!

    Reply

  2. Posted by scrabblenut on December 9, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    We got our tree in record time too. It usually takes us all day and this time we were in and out in 10 minutes. I almost wanted to spend some extra time wandering through the trees just for fun.

    Love the snowfall by the way. I’m jealous. I see that you and Kim both have it. I must know how you did it so I can copy. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. I know – i felt like I needed to look around more. In fact, as they were netting the tree, I saw one I thought I liked better, but it was too late πŸ™‚

    As for the snow, it’s somewhere in the extras I think. You just check the box for snow. I wish it were snowing outside instead of raining, but this will have to do for now!

    Reply

  4. Posted by kermooch on December 10, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    After commenting, I checked. It’s in your dashboard,under appearance, then extras.

    Reply

  5. Posted by shellygarvin on December 10, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Can’t wait to see pictures. We got a live tree for the first time. We let the kids pick it out and it has a big hole in the back. It is also known to lean a little every few days…guess you could say that it definitely has some character πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Posted by scrabblenut on December 12, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Yay! I am still a bit baffled by the new wordpress. Thanks Kerri πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kandice on December 12, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    I’ll get to see Fat Boy in just a couple weeks! On the same note, Sean, Ewan and I picked out our first family Christmas tree a couple days ago (didn’t get one last year cause of our tiny apartment). So, it was exciting. I complained about the heat cause it’s just not right to pick out a tree while sweating in 80 degree weather, but it’s gotten chilly since so I’m feeling more festive. I strung the lights all by myself and we all decorated. Well, Ewan kinda “threw” a couple ornaments at some branches but I still count that. πŸ™‚ It’s a good lookin tree; I am proud.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Debby Morton on December 13, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Can’t wait to see photo’s of the tree Kerri.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

