A Jesus Year in 2009

I am still reeling from the celebrations of the past week.  As I sit here typing, it is hard to believe that Christmas is already week behind us.  I am afraid to close my eyes because I feel like I might be right back here, celebrating 2010 🙂

I do know that what I want to do is take 2009 by the reins and do everything in my control to make it a Jesus year.  This is what Beth Moore is encouraging on her site.  In fact, she has extended an invitation to those who would answer, to commit to learn 2 new scriptures a month for the entire year.  You can check it out here.  But you need to jump on soon, because today was the first day.

I am actually fairly new to Beth Moore. I have heard much about her from friends who have done her studies and I am getting to know her on her blog. I like her a lot.  She’s real, she says it like it is and she loves Jesus and has a great passion for pointing women to deeper relationship with  Him.  I have not done one of her studies (gasp!), but have ordered a book of hers that I am looking forward to reading.  Look for it On My Nightstand soon.  I am also looking forward to going to a conference of her’s in March.

I would encourage you to check her out if you aren’t already familiar with her.  And jump in and learn some scripture with me.  I love committing God’s Word to heart and having it return at the exact moment I need it most.  It is something I have not been as deliberate about as I need to in the busyness that has been the last several weeks and I can tell.

Let’s make it a Jesus Year together!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by heiditheophilus on January 2, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Beth Moore is great! I love her studies, but they can be frustrating though b/c they are all over the place as they are topical. I’m kind of an all-over-the-place person so it works for me. Some studies I’ve recently discovered that I love are the Elizabeth George Bible studies. I’m working my way through the Judges/Ruth one right now. The Nelson Impact Bible Study Series studies look pretty good too – and they look deep, but not overwhelming! I’m hoping to be able tackle those soon. I order mine through CBD.com. Just some Bible study thoughts for Jesus Year 2009 🙂

    Reply

  2. Love it! Maybe more of a challenge than Sing the Word A to Z? (though I have found myself humming scripture at the right time 🙂

    What a great resource that gets right at the heart of the matter. I spent a bit of time on her blog now I have to find out more about this. Thanks Kerri!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

