1!

Last year (2007) I gave Bill the best birthday present.  It’s one I won’t be able to top.  I worked on it lovingly for nine months and waited till the perfect moment to give it to him.  It was a beautiful, 10-pound baby girl named Sadie. 

Sadie was my first experience with a Christmas baby.  I just knew I was going to have her on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day and then what were we going to do?  Turns out she made it through both of those.  I think it was because I held her in for the Christmas production at church in which Bill had a big part and no understudy.  I was told in no uncertain terms that I was not allowed to have her then.  Dutiful wife that I am, I crossed my legs and waited. And waited and waited.  No amount of shopping, decorating or wrapping could get that girl to make an appearance then.  Finally, all the good Christmas eating did the trick.  After Christmas dinner at my Nanny’s and Christmas breakfast at my mom’s the next day, Sadie decided there wasn’t enough room in there anymore and woke Bill & I up on his birthday morning.  Five hours later, she was here.

She’s been a sweet baby.  Always busy watching everyone.  She can get vocal when pressed, though.  When you’re the sixth, I think you have to.

Her name means princess or charmer and she is both.  For her first birthday, we did the princess theme, since she is a child of the King.  She loved it and had a blast.

Here are a few pics:

Happy 1st Birthday, sweet Sadie Faith!  We love you!

Hmmmm...cake

Hmmmm...cake

Cake good!

Cake good!

A little princess piggy

A little princess piggy

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on January 8, 2009 at 7:43 am

    That is hilarious. Great post. Happy Birthday Sadie!!

    Reply

  2. Loved it!! What special birthdays her and her Daddy will have… thanks to Mama, of course!

    Reply

  3. Posted by heiditheophilus on January 10, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    I think you actually could top that present if perhaps you give him twins one year. I’m a big fan of you doing that. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

