40!

This is a little belated.  I think he might have thought he’d gotten away without being called out on my blog.

Anyway, 10 days ago my hubby marked his fourth decade. His birthday requests included a meal of lambshanks, fried eggplant, asparagus, mashed potatoes and cheese biscuits.  For dessert – a homemade ice cream cake. For the day, a nice quiet day at home, relaxing and doing whatever (which surely included watching an Abbott and Costello movie).  So, being the compliant wife that I am, I threw him a surprise party 🙂 Actually he did get all his requests, just not until the next day, so I guess you could say he got all he asked for and more.

Let me tell you, it is hard to throw a surprise party, especially without your biggest helper.  Bill, bless his heart has put up and helped with many parties over the course of our marriage.  I realized just how much help he was when I didn’t have him there 🙂  Somehow we managed.  It went a little something like this:

Get up Saturday and go to my mom & stepdad’s for breakfast to celebrate Christmas with them – lots of fun.

After opening Christmas gifts, we move on to birthday gifts for Bill & Sadie.

One of Bill’s gifts was a scroll telling him that he was going to ‘Medieval Times‘ for dinner.

After that shock wears off, we load up and drive to Discover Mills on Sugarloaf parkway. Meanwhile, my mom, stepdad and sister take the baby, toddler and my nephew back to our house to decorate and greet guests, unbeknownst to Bill.

We enjoy dinner, a show and a ceremony in which Bill is knighted :), then head back home

We arrive ( a little later than scheduled – so sorry!) to find my family sitting in the kitchen, no one else in sight.  I got a little worried.

I peek into the dining room – still no people. Now I’m thinking “no one came and that’s going to make Bill feel terrible”

Then I happened to walk by our staircase which is totally enclosed and dark and I glimpse some bodies standing quietly, packed together like sardines. Thank goodness!

Bill’s talking to my mom when everyone starts filing out – and they just keep coming and coming.  It was great (except for the fact that they’ve been in my upstairs, which is totally unsuitable for company, oh well, there goes the remainder of any pride)  I don’t know whose idea that was, but it was a good one.  Much better than having everyone jump and yell ‘surprise!’

Princess Sadie had her first birthday cake – boy did she!  More on her later.

Then Sir William had his and hopefully a good time was had by all.  If you made it, thanks for coming.  It meant a lot.  If you didn’t – we missed you and if you didn’t get an invite, my apologies.  Some emails were returned, some I never found, it was crazy. We’ll get you next time (except there won’t be a next time for a long time because Kerri is taking sabbatical from parties for awhile 🙂

Here are some pics from Bill’s party.  Sadie’s are in her own special post.

Happy Birthday, Bill!  You’re getting better with age and 40 sure looks good on you! Love you!

Sir William vs. the cake

Sir William vs. the cake ,big breath...

The smoke!

The smoke!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scrabblenut on January 8, 2009 at 7:40 am

    I’m still kicking myself for missing that party. Sounds like fun!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Krista on January 10, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    I am certainly sorry I missed it but thanks for posting the pics. I would way rather have been there than sitting in traffic for 10 hours! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

