A wonderful, awful thing

Do you remember the line in How the Grinch Stole Christmas when the narrator says that the Grinch had a wonderful, awful idea?  Well, we got back from Florida yesterday and found out that a wonderful, awful thing had happened while we were gone.

Walking into our kitchen, loaded down with bags and kids, we spot this ransom note on our counter…

The note

The note

We had been B.I.F.ed.  A little while back we had a reverse offering at church, in which the church gave the people attending the offering and told them to Bless It Forward to someone else.  This has continued with people doing their own blessing it forward, which is awesome.  I hadn’t seen a BIF in awhile, until yesterday.  Basically, some people had come to our house and cleaned. They focused mainly on the rooms upstairs that the kids have taken over 🙂  This is wonderful, you are thinking.  And it is wonderful. It’ s funny because cleaning and organizing was on my mind while driving/riding the eight hours from FL.  I passed many a mile thinking of how wonderful everything was going to look and how peaceful I would feel when it was done.

You see, the past couple of months have been WILD here, starting probably around Thanksgiving, with Christmas, prolonged sickness, vacation and the passing of Bill’s mom all rolling into each other with NO break for things like school or cleaning.  I was lucky to get meals on the table and clothes washed.  We did actually manage to get in some school before vacation, but it was so disjointed that I doubt the kids retained much.  We will definitely be reviewing 🙂

We managed to keep the downstairs clean for group and other visitors, but the upstairs was a war-zone.  It reminded me of the book Lord of the Flies and what happens when things are turned over to kids to run 🙂 Number one disaster area was Peyton’s room.  You might remember that my son is a collector.  Like a little magpie collecting treasures and tucking them away in it’s nest, he managed to accumulate quite a treasure trove of goodies.  I’m pretty sure that the pile, which was spread all over the room, was a foot deep in some places.  I had stopped going in there the past week, because I didn’t have a whole day to devote to cleaning it and it tormented me.  We took to kissing him goodnight in the playroom and sending him in alone, with a walking stick to navigate his way.

The awful part is that someone I know (probably several someones) were in there.  They SAW THE MESS!  They KNOW!  However, I have decided that I won’t dwell on that and instead be happy that I have one big chore checked off my oh-so-long list, and that is a wonderful thing.  Peyton was so happy that he played in there all day yesterday.

So thank you to our personal Wall-E’s.  You have made our house a better place to be 🙂

wall-e

Peyton’s room before…

There's the floor!

...and after. There's the floor!

6 responses to this post.

  1. I do love me a clean house. 🙂

    Reply

  2. LOL! Love the “sending him in alone with a walking stick”

    Reply

  3. Ooooo….I know that has to be a wonderful awful feeling…I’d DIE if someone saw my mess…it’s kind of like a dirty little secret (pardon the pun) 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Debby Morton on February 8, 2009 at 2:01 am

    What a lovely surprise for you.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Kandice on February 12, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    “Like a little magpie collecting treasures and tucking them away in it’s nest, he managed to accumulate quite a treasure trove of goodies.” Awesome description, love it!
    That is a pretty sweet gift, I must say. Don’t worry about people seeing your mess; anyone who knows kids, knows how it happens.
    I love it when we’re out-of-town and return to a clean house, courtesy of Sean’s mom. It’s fantastic!

    Reply

  6. Posted by deldobuss on April 15, 2009 at 9:57 am

    That is so awesome! And I second the wonderful and awful part. We just bought our first house (we went smaller to save money) and right now it looks like a disaster! We have to downsize or find some storage solutions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

