Are you so foolish?

I was reading the Ridge’s Wild Goose Chase 40-days of prayer last week when the verse of the day leapt off the page at me. It has rolled around in my head since then.

It’s Galatians 3:3

Are you so foolish?  After beginning with the Spirit, are you now trying to attain your goal by human effort?

I love how Paul pulls no punches here. It certainly grabs my attention.  This whole section is great and I encourage you to read it.  In fact, at the Beth Moore conference I went to last month, this was a key passage. I didn’t remember that until I looked it up to read the context.  I had written “Are we nuts?’ in the margin because that’s what Beth boiled it down to.

Don’t we do this?  As baby Christians, weren’t we on fire with faith to go out and do what God had for us?  Then we get comfy and slowly, if we’re not careful, we creep back into our old way of doing things – in our own strength.  And then we wonder why life isn’t different.

Even as mature Christians, we often set out to do something God has called us to do and then, little by little, we start to do it our way.  We do it according to our own strength.  We think we know what we should do based on what makes sense to us in the moment.  With our finite vision.  We forget that God has  infinite vision and that what does not make sense now, will make sense in the big picture.

I have done this many times.  I can’t see why it wouldn’t be best to go a certain course, so I do it, even if it means forcing the situation.

I’ve just got to have this right now in order to accomplish what God has called me to do.

I just have to do this now before the opportunity passes because there won’t be another.

This is the only way.

And you know what I find out?

God has something better.

There is a bigger and better opportunity just beyond the point I was willing to go.

His way is the only way – because it is the perfect way.

When I do it on my own, sometimes I make a huge mess of things. Then it takes more time to ‘fix’ them than it would have if I would have just waiting on God.

Sometimes it’s not so bad and things turn out okay.  But that’s just it.  They turn out okay…just okay.  When what God has is infinitely better – if I would have just waited for Him instead of taking the reigns.

Ultimately, we rob Him of the glory when we do it ourselves. Whether it is intentional or not doesn’t matter.  Or, we try to give God credit for our mediocre outcomes, when the truth is that He wouldn’t put His name on it because it’s below His standard.

I think the times when this is hardest is when you are sure something is God’s will so you proceed to do all number of things to accomplish it in your own power.  I have learned that even though you may manage to get to the same end, you have bypassed all the wonderful and infinitesimal things that God accomplishes along the way, in addition to the original goal.  We can’t do that and we miss out when we try.  That, my friend, is where the faith lies.

Why? Because we are impatient creatures.  Because God’s way will always be harder (and we don’t like harder), but one thing’s for sure, the outcome will always be better.

So, let’s stop being foolish and finish in the Spirit what we began in the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

