Shred me

So I’ve been busy this week getting into an exercise rhythm.  It was hard at first, but I think I’ve settled on a solid plan.  To help jump start me, I’m doing the 30-day Shred by Jillian Michaels from The Biggest Loser.  I read about it on another blog and thought I’d give it a whirl.  It’s just 20 minutes a day for 30 days.  Sounds easy, right?

The first two days almost did me in (and this was on level 1 – there are 3).  My thighs hurt so much that I sounded like Michael Jackson coming down the stairs.  Ow! Hee – hee! Ooooh!  It was rough 🙂

The third day proved a little better and it’s been going well (still not easy) since.  I have yet to move up to level 2, since I haven’t quite mastered 1 yet. (RE: it still burns!)  I recommend this for just about anyone as it includes simple, but effective exercises done in 3 6-minute circuits that include 3 minutes strength, 2 minutes cardio and 1 minute of abs.  This is great for those ADD exercisers out there (me included) .  You don’t have time to get bored – you barely have time to breathe!  It is a very effective combination.

In addition to that I have been walking a 5K (that’s 3.1 miles, but 5K sounds much cooler) 3 nights a week.  This I love.  I walked before fairly regularly for about 30 minutes a go and at a quick, but not challenging pace.  Now I’m doing a very brisk (alllmost jog) pace. I’ve even expanded my territory to include the neighborhood across the street.

My motivation?  The playlist I created on my ipod.  You can see it under, well, the On My iPod tab.  I will tell you that there is a shocking lack of Christian music.  I need to fix this.  In my defense, I found a stash of old CD’s which my daughter uploaded to itunes and so I just chose from those.  Most of my regular CD’s were in the car.  So please don’t judge me 🙂 I’m a child of the 80’s and sometimes, I just have to get my 80’s music fix.

I chose these songs based on walkability – they had to have a great beat and fun factor – they have to make me smile.  I just wish that I had been using my iPod all along.  Who knows where I would be?

So go check it out and be sure to leave a comment on your favorite songs that get you moving.  And while you’re at it, pick up a copy of the Shred and let’s get shredded together. (It’s on sale at Target this week $13 or order on amazon.com $12 w/shipping) Misery loves company and I already have one recruit (besides Bill). What are you waiting for?

2 responses to this post.

  1. You guys in that neighborhood over there are motivating! Use the ipod and walk? I really should do that. Maybe tonight even. The weather is perfect…Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply

  2. I confess that when I used to run, I had some Def Leppard on the iPod & it really got me pumped when I hit a lull – don’t tell anybody my dirty little secret, though!

    Btw, I did a step class last THURSDAY and my calves STILL feel like I have battery acid running through them! Hang in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

