Forgetting what is behind…

In Philippians, Paul writes about wanting to know Christ and the power of his resurrection, becoming like him in his death in order to attain resurrection from the dead.  He admits that he hasn’t yet attained this, but that forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, he presses on toward the goal to win the prize for which God called him heavenward in Christ Jesus.

I don’t have a problem with the straining toward what’s ahead or pressing on for the prize, it’s the forgetting what’s behind where I get stuck.  Even when I so desperately want to forget and sometimes I momentarily succeed, I still manage to remember at some point.

I can certainly feel where my friend Kim is coming from when she says that many times this year she wanted to pack up her family and run away.  This past year is one that, honestly, I would like to forget in many ways.  It has been one of the hardest I can remember and there are still tendrils from some of the experiences that wrap themselves around the present.  A lot of loss and a lot of change, much of which came right on the heels of one another which didn’t allow much time for adjustment.

I realized though that if I blotted out those experiences entirely, I would have to forget that God was gracious in each circumstance.  He comforted. He provided. He healed. And even though I am still working through some of it, I am confident that He will continue to walk me through if I rest in Him.

I also realized that so many have suffered much more and many have suffered without the comfort of a Savior, of a friend who sticks closer than a brother. They have suffered without the support of family and friends. Without the shelter of  home and warm meals.  When I view my trials through the lens of all that I do have, it is impossible to not to feel humbled by the blessings God has bestowed in my life.

I find that I am straining towards this new year, hopefully one with less struggle and more peace. I know that the beginning of the year is not a magical time when everything starts over. But then maybe it’s more like a mental turning to a new page, a fresh slate to write on. I will forget those things which could ensnare me and cause me to stagnate, remembering only God’s faithfulness, and I will press on to attain the prize in Christ. The prize which is Christ.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by brumbemom on December 31, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Learning from the pains of the past….not always easy.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Thank you so much for this word!! Learning from but also not holding to tightly to the past isnt always easy to do. AS you sai no matter the circumstances just because we know HIM, we gtruly have so much!!! Be blessed! Angie B.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

